Romance Book Covers: THE RESULTS

I don’t often make this blog about me, specifically. I have written from my experiences and tried to legitimately link them to the big world out there. But this time, it was definitely personal.

So, THANK YOU to everyone who posted and emailed me about the book covers. It was interesting to read your comments and I made some decisions based on them. So today’s post is mostly visual.

First – I went to Wordle.com (thank you, Nannette, for the link!) and made a word cloud from the comments, phrases of which I cut and pasted. The big words appeared the most often, the smaller words, less so:

Blog Response Word Cloud

Cool, huh?

The response to the covers was overall positive, but the lack of people on the front covers was a stumbling block for many. What I’ve done, then, is to have the heroine represented on the cover of “A Woman of Choice” and the hero represented on “A Prince of Norway.” I have NO idea what I’ll depict on the third book (it’s a trilogy), “A Matter of Principle”… But I still have a couple months to figure that out. *gulp*

My apologies to those who wanted to envision the characters for themselves. These photos actually match the descriptions in the books, and I was pleased to find them on Fotolio.com.

So, here are the updated designs. I do want your honest feedback, should you be willing to give it, but I won’t post again about this particular subject. Thank you all – you are amazing!

And now I’m off to Columbus, Ohio to attend my very first Romantic Times Booklovers Convention. We’ll see what subjects and information I come home with next week. Watch out – you never know with me! Β πŸ™‚


A Woman of Choice Full Cover

A Prince of Norway Full Cover


12 Responses to “Romance Book Covers: THE RESULTS”


  1. 1 amberscottproject 04/26/2010 at 10:27 AM

    LOVE them!!!

  2. 3 Lori Brighton 04/26/2010 at 10:35 AM

    Wow! I can’t believe you made those! That’s amazing and they are awesome. Seriously, those are better than many ny books I’ve seen.

  3. 5 Beth 04/26/2010 at 10:49 AM

    Hi Kris! We exchanged cards in the hospitality suite Saturday night at Desert Dreams. I fanned you over on Facebook, too.

    I love the cover designs. I think adding the faces made a big difference.

  4. 7 Lise Horton 04/26/2010 at 1:51 PM

    Both covers are really lovely – I admire both the layouts and color choices (nice and rich and strong) as well as the overall design. Excellent job – very eye-catching which, if you wander the bookstores as I do (constantly), you will recognize just how important that is – that the books are beautiful, BUT also look different from the mass of mass market covers out there.
    As for the third book in the trilogy, how about the couple together? Or a superimposition along the lines of what you have now, with one in either corner, or one on either side, face to face or cheek to cheek?
    Regardless what you choose, it is obvious it will look great.
    Have a super time at RT!

  5. 9 Donna Goode 04/27/2010 at 7:21 AM

    Beautiful, Kris! I love your final choices! Here’s wishing you the very best of luck!!!

  6. 10 Margaret Mallory 04/27/2010 at 10:09 AM

    Love the final covers!! I I especially like the 2nd one-yes, I like a man on the cover. πŸ˜‰

    Margaret

  7. 11 Donna Hatch 04/27/2010 at 12:58 PM

    I may be late on this, but I don’t care for people on the cover of books (which makes me wonder why my publishers seem to insist on it). First of all, the models never look like the characters are supposed to look. A second, I’m with you about classy working better than sexy.

  8. 12 Linda 04/27/2010 at 6:10 PM

    Very nice revisions. You did an excellent job


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 475 other followers

Authorpreneur Kris Tualla

www.KrisTualla.com

Click Cover for Buy Link

Click Cover for Buy Link

Click Cover for Buy Link

Click Image for Buy Link

Click Image for Buy Link

Click Cover for Buy Links

Click Cover for Buy Links

Click Cover for Buy Links

Phoenix's 1st Reader Event!

Past Posts


